What is Domain Levels?

Domain Levels are differentiated by the Domain extensions. There are 5 types of Domain Levels are available.

1. TLD (Top Level Domains)

2. ccTLD (Country Code specific Top Level Domains)

3. gTLD (Generic Top Level Domains)

4. SLD (Second Level Domains)

5. Third Level Domains

1. TLD – TLD is a domain extension which is we had already know about it. TLD is the highest level of Domain Names System hierarchy. Examples of TLD’s are .com, .net, .org, .club, .online, .site and etc. There are over thousands of different TLD’s available.

2. ccTLD – As the name suggests, it is a country level domain which is used for differentiate a blog or website nationally. An example of the ccTLD are .uk for United Kingdom, .us for United States, .in for India.

3. gTLD – Generic TLD’s are the one of the variation of TLD. There are over more than 1000 of gTLD’s available. The most famous gTLD’s are .com, .net, .org , .info, .edu and etc.

4. SLD – Second Level Domain is the domain name which is placed before .com or .net or any other domain extension. For example in the “readerz.org” where ‘.org’ is the TLD and ‘readerz’ is the SLD.

There is also a ccSLD available. The examples are co.uk, gov.uk, edu.uk, co.in and etc.

5. Third Level Domains – It is present at the left of the SLD. In the most of the cases Third Level Domains are subdomains. Example: blog.readerz.org where ‘blog’ is the Third Level Domain, ‘readerz’ is the SLD and ‘.org’ is the TLD.

The well-known Third Level Domain is the ‘www’ which is used in the most of the websites.

Leave a Comment